Being Truly IN the Word

Squid's Cup of Tea

In the Word… What a phrase!  You hear it pretty often in Christian circles in regards to reading the Bible.  It just struck me today how accurate this should be when we say it!

We say “in” when we are immersed in something.  Over our heads in the pool of truth, hair wet and dripping.  People notice when people have wet hair, and the world should notice when we’ve been immersed in the Word.

The problem is — at least for me, that when I use the phrase, I often mean that I did my YouVersion plan devotional, scanned the reading for the day just to see the check mark and “You’re all caught up!” message, and then went about my day.

But that’s not Bible study!

When you want a relationship with someone, you don’t just see the notification for their message and swipe it away or click on…

View original post 72 more words

Author: Lisa the Infidel

I am an #Infidel - born and bred North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

