No Better Friend, No Worse Enemy – General James “Mad Dog” Mattis

Give Me Liberty

H/T War History Online.

We need hundreds of General James “Mad Dog”Mattis.

Often referred to as the General Patton of the modern era, General James “Mad Dog” Mattis once told a group of Iraqi tribal elders “I come in peace. I didn’t bring artillery. But I’m pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: if you “mess” with me, I’ll kill you all.”

There is actually a profanity in that quote, but I opted not to share it here. You might be hard-pressed to find a more quoted General in the modern era or a General more beloved by his men than General James Mattis. But if you think General James Mattis to be nothing but a blunt, tough speaking Marine, you might be surprised that this man was one of the intellectual giants of modern military leadership.

On all his deployments he carried with him in his pocket the…

View original post 1,054 more words

Author: Lisa the Infidel

I am an #Infidel - born and bred North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

